## No. 007/VGL/010 Government of India Central Vigilance Commission

\*\*\*

Satarkta Bhawan, Block-A INA, GPO complex, New Delhi-110023 Dated, the13<sup>th</sup> June, 2007

#### **Circular No. 17/5/07**

# Sub:- Constitution of Committee of Experts for scrutiny of prosecution sanctions.

Central Vigilance Commission, in accordance with the power conferred upon it vide section 8 (1)(f) and (h) of CVC Act, 2003, tenders advice in respect of officers coming under its jurisdiction against whom the Central Bureau of Investigation, after investigating the case, has recommended sanction for prosecution.

- 2. On a few occasions, where the Commission has, in agreement with the CBI's recommendations, advised sanction for prosecution against a public servant, the disciplinary authority, in disagreement with the CBI's recommendations, approaches the Commission for reconsideration of its advice.
- 3. In accordance with the guidelines issued by M/o Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions (Deptt. of Personnel & Training) vide O.M. No. 399/33/2006-AVD-III dated 6/11/2006, a committee of experts is to be set-up by the Central Vigilance Commission (with experts drawn from civil services, public sector undertakings and banks) to examine such reconsideration proposals received from various ministries/departments/organizations.
- 4. It has, therefore, been decided to constitute a panel of experts of six eminent persons, for scrutiny of reconsideration proposals where the Commission and CBI have advised sanction for prosecution against the suspected public servants. Depending upon the nature of the case, a committee of 3 members from amongst the panel of six experts would be drawn, who shall examine the CBI recommendation and the tentative view of the Ministry/Department concerned in greater detail and, based on the experts committee's recommendation, the CVC would render appropriate advice to the competent authority within 15 days of the meeting of the committee. The three-member committee would be chaired by one of the Vigilance Commissioners in the Commission.
- 5. The following persons would form the panel of experts:-
  - 1. Shri B.S. Minhas, IAS (Retd.)
  - 2. Shri J.S. Juneja, Chairman (Retd), NSIC
  - 3. Shri S.N. Menon, IAS (Retd) Ex-commerce Secretary
  - 4. Shri R.C.Aggarwal, IPS (Retd. DG, ITBP)
  - 5. Shri Himanshu Kumar, IPS (Retd DG, SSB)
  - 6. Shri A.K. Purwar, Ex CMD, SBI

- 6. The tenure of panel of experts would be for a period of two years. The terms and conditions would be as indicated in the annexure.
- 7. The meetings of the committee would be held in Delhi. Central Vigilance Commission would provide the required secretarial services alongwith the necessary funds to meet the expenditure to be incurred regarding the meetings of the committee. The Commission would tender advice within 15 days of the meeting of the experts committee.

(SUJIT BANERJEE) SECRETARY

To,

- 1. Members of the Committee of Experts.
- 2. Shri Satyananda Mishra, Secretary, DOPT, North Block, New Delhi.
- 3. Shri Vijay Shanker, Director, CBI, North Block, New Delhi.
- 4. All Chief Vigilance Officers.

# Terms of appointment of the Committee of Experts':-

#### 1. Period

The term will be for a period of two years from date of issue of orders.

#### 2. Honorarium

An honorarium of Rs. 3000/- (Three thousand only) per day would be paid to the members.

#### 3. Secretarial Assistance

Secretarial assistance would be provided by the Commission as per requirements.

### 4. Fare, Transport & Accommodation

The fare, transport and accommodation would be provided by the Commission as per entitlement of the members.